Close Message
Main Content

Milwaukee students recognized for excellence through scholarships

Graduation Cap with moneyThe Milwaukee Times has announced the winners of the Louvenia Johnson scholarship and Lester L. Carter, Jr., scholarship, which recognize Black students for excellence in academics, extracurricular activities, leadership, and volunteerism. Applications include an essay and a nomination from a principal, counselor, teacher, pastor, mentor, or advisor.

Congratulations to the Milwaukee students who will receive college scholarships! Eleven winners are students in Milwaukee Public Schools. You make us MPS Proud!


2021 Louvenia Johnson Scholarship Winners

Janae Adams – Rufus King International High School*
David Alepembwe – Bradley Tech High School*
Trinay Austin – Madison Academic High School*
Shaylin Crosby – Rufus King International School*
Jonillia Davis – Bradley Tech High School*
Stephawn Easley – University School of Milwaukee
Leroy Hope – Milwaukee School of Languages*
Jakobie Jackson – Golda Meir High School*
Anyiah Lobley – Golda Meir High School*
Jalen Reed – Rufus King International High School*
Fardowso Shidad – Rufus King International High School*
Monica Slade – Nicolet High School

2021 Lester L. Carter, Jr., Scholarship Honoree

Joshua Wilder – Riverside University High School*

*MPS Schools

© Milwaukee Public Schools 2021
To top